Focus On Fruit: Ataulfo Mango


Super-Delicious!!!

I am completely in love with these mangoes at the moment because they have given my taste buds a reason to sing.

Early spring can be a challenging time to find good variety of fruit. Most of the apples are red, small & incredibly hard. And if you’re like me, you just grow tired of the can fruit after so long.

I frequent the farmer’s markets as much as possible but in the colder months and for optimal variety, I tend to shop at Whole Foods & Fresh Market. Shopping at these stores and the farmer’s markets have broaden my horizons tremendously.

I spotted these beauties one evening while I was attending a wine tasting and I decided to give them a whirl. I was about to purchase regular mangoes but they had a huge display of these and they were $1 ea. while the others were 2/$5.

They look a little different than most mangoes you’re accustomed to seeing because they’re oblong shaped. This varitey hails from Mexico and are excellent source for Vitamin C & fiber.

I am very pleased with what I’ve found and have been raving ever since!!

If you like tropical fruits (mango, papaya, guava, etc.) you will be greatly pleased with these.

Here I’ve shown one of the ways I added a little life to my salad (after I perfected my mango-cubing method…the first couple I just peeled and ate very sloppily)

Ingredients:

*spinach*
*spring mix*
*garlic sesame crumbles*
*ataulfo mango*
*Swiss emmenthaler cheese*
*spicy Thai & curry vinaigrette dressing*

~Peace & Blessings~

One Response to “Focus On Fruit: Ataulfo Mango”

  1. I love mango.Great post!

Leave a Reply

