No (Wo)Man Is An Island…Yet Mine Is So Incredibly Tranquil

“All mankind is of one author, and is one volume; when one man dies, one chapter is not torn out of the book, but translated into a better language; and every chapter must be so translated…As therefore the bell that rings to a sermon, calls not upon the preacher only, but upon the congregation to come: so this bell calls us all: but how much more me, who am brought so near the door by this sickness….No man is an island, entire of itself…any man’s death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind; and therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.”

~~Devotions upon emergent occasions – Meditation XVII, 1624 John Donne (1572-1631)

I am certain many have heard the above quotation is some form of paraphrase, if not in its entirety or formal context.

In essence what the select snippet “No man is an island, entire of itself…” refers to is the intrinsic dependence and need for humans to interact with other humans whether that interaction is good, bad or indifferent. There is really no getting around it.

If you doubt that just think for a moment about the contrary: solitary confinement.

To a reasonably sound-minded and healthy individual this type of forced isolation is/can be considered extreme punishment because it greatly deprives them of interaction by diminishing contact to virtually non-existent levels. Quite often it produces the desired negative effect and then some.

While I totally understand this, I am one such person who values the solitude which being on my island has afforded me. Primarily in part because I’ve consciously made it such a place of paradise that when it’s contrasted with the alternative of mainland…there’s hands down no comparing the two.

One of my personality/character traits is having a quiet, soft-spoken demeanor. From my earliest memories I’ve never really felt the need to draw attention or interaction to myself.

Interestingly enough, it’s one of the very things that seem to either draw people towards me if it doesn’t at first make them uneasy. Really I came to see over time it only makes attention-seekers uneasy because how I am in many cases seems to intensify the contrast that much more which in turn just highlights it more.

I’ve always created a very pleasant, tranquil personal space. The ambiance is unparalleled because I see it as a place of rest, relaxation and rejuvenation.

I am the only female child of my siblings so I really didn’t interact with females in a living situation until I went away to college. I went through a few roommates who uncomfortable with my quietness thought I didn’t like them and no amount of reassurance can assure the insecure.

This isn’t reserved to women though; there are men who also don’t comprehend the benefits of a relaxed soul. I just don’t understand how if I say I am just quiet you get I’m mad or don’t like you? My answer to that is you don’t have to be around me to figure it out, so be gone. No harm, no foul, my feelings are unhurt and my conscience remains clear.

In raising my daughter, I exposed her to the beauty of a home of solitude. In many ways she’s benefitted from the chaos-free environment but being her own person she ultimately has to create her own island and that’s okay. She’s just been shown a different way.

Over the years, I have had visitors to my island with different and mixed responses. But there is an overwhelming acknowledgment of the sense of calmness that I keep within my space. Too much introduction of the wrong energy can upset the balance.

Therefore, I opt to make more frequent trips off my island than I seek to invite visitors to my island.

Despite being quiet in my demeanor, I do manage to get my fill of human interaction quite easily. Along with the genuine and natural drawing to myself that I’ve become accustomed to I am routinely subjected to unwarranted interaction. There still exists the need for people to seek to change and better my interaction experience to their liking rather than mine.

Thresholds reached I whisk myself back to paradise’s shores.

Honestly though, I’m not so much concerned with leaving MY island as much as I desire to add to it a permanent, fulltime resident. one who is content to be holed up with the likes of me.

Hmmm, if only…..

~peace & blessings~

One Response to “No (Wo)Man Is An Island…Yet Mine Is So Incredibly Tranquil”

  1. […] No (Wo)Man Is An Island…Yet Mine Is So Incredibly Tranquil (totaltranslucency.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

